Touching the Wounds

December 3, 2007

jk_scbabyjesus.jpg

A silent readerย shared this with me via email.

“When I was a child we had a Christmas tradition. We had a little plaster statue of the baby Jesus that we placed under our Christmas tree each year. We loved our little Jesus doll and took good care of him. He was an important part of our lives. Then one year, tragedy struck. Our dog, in a particularly aggressive mood, decided to play with Jesus and tore his little plaster leg from his body. The family was so upset. We did not know what to do with this broken, mangled Jesus. Should we throw him away? Should we try to repair him? In the end, we decided to leave him as he was, broken and wounded. Somehow he seemed to be Jesus even more that way.”

In the midst of my wounds, I now know what it means to be whole.

Thank you, Denis. ๐Ÿ™‚

14 Responses to “Touching the Wounds”

  1. may Says:

    that’s a nice story. I like how it relates to the real world ๐Ÿ™‚

    May, I’m glad you like it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. LB Says:

    We all have our own defects, one way or another, no? Our missing bits, broken parts..

    We sure have, LB.

  3. Kyels Says:

    Everyone is not flawless. If we all are, then the world will be rid of all its problems and imperfectness. No matter what defects we possess, we’re still beautiful in a way.

    Only those who cannot stop hurting others (irregardless of what ways) have the worst defects of all because they find themselves insecure hence making people miserable will eliminate their defects in an imaginary way.

    Though you’re wounded, you’re still wonderful Jem. I’m being honest … Haha!

    ๐Ÿ˜€

    Gosh! Thanks, Kyels. *blushes*
    I agree with you.. after all, everything/everyone is beautiful in its/his/her own way.

  4. fashionasia Says:

    Christmas is here again!! how i love december! ๐Ÿ™‚

    *smiles at FA’s enthusiasm* ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. angel Says:

    Errrr… Merry Christmas!… ?

    *checks for wounds*
    ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Did you find any, Angel? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. x5 Says:

    despite abundance of flaws…we’re still able 2 make wonderful things on this planet.
    may u hv a joyous, SEXciting xmas dis yr Jem ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hahaha.. is that all you can think about, X5? ๐Ÿ˜›

  7. misti Says:

    er.. Mewwy Chwistmas?

    3 more weeks, Misti..

  8. alison Says:

    wow! nice christmas deco blog! we are as always whole and complete

    Thanks, Alison. Glad you like it.
    Yep.. we’re always whole & complete despite all the wounds.

  9. kyh Says:

    no one’s perfect. and furthermore, having a wound is like having an important life lesson. we’ll nvr grow if our lives r perfect and the roads ahead r flat and smooth.

    Thanks for your perfect affirmation, Kyh. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. hooiching Says:

    wahhhhh nice layout,…merry Xmas in advance Jem!!! *hugz

    Thanks, babe.
    Enjoy your Christmas in Paris.
    Miss you… *HUGE HUGS*

  11. _butt Says:

    oh dear… sad one there, but, it’s all about acceptance, yeah?

    Happy Christmas and New Year in advance! =)

    Yep, _butt.. it’s all about accepting who we are.

    A Blessed Christmas & A Merry New Year to you too. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I hope to see you around before the festive days. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. Angele Says:

    A nice story indeed ๐Ÿ™‚ Thx for sharing Jem

    *huggies*

    It’s my pleasure, Angele. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’m happy to know that you like it too.

    *HUGE HUGS*

  13. kat Says:

    You know, if you look closely, all of us have lines. At places where we have been broken and glued back together. Like an old familiar blanky that has been torn and stitched back again, we don’t love it any less nor has it lost any of its usefulness. It fact it gives the blanky more character, don’t you think? I still keep my old tattered blanky but I don’t use it anymore because it’s disintegrating!! ๐Ÿ˜€ I love taking it out and looking at the patchwork designs, reminiscing about the times when I was younger and each patchwork had a different story to tell…

    *hugs jem, scars and all*

    Kat, my friend.. your sharing reminded me of one of my fave reads “How to make an American Quilt” by Whitney Otto. It was also made into a movie starring Winona Ryder.

    Btw, I’ve still got my old patchwork blanky from when I was a baby. It’s preciously treasured as it was made by my late maternal grandma. There are a few more after that.. made & given to me by my aunties & my mum.. & they’re all kept with wonderful memories intact.

    *HUGE HUGS back*

  14. _butt Says:

    sure do! ๐Ÿ˜€

    btw, I tagged you. no worries, no obligation attached. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks, _butt. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Will check it out later.. as usual, no promises. ๐Ÿ˜‰


Leave a Reply

