Why can’t the rest of the World get along?

March 13, 2008

I got sent this in my email box earlier today.

In a zoo in California, a mother tiger gave birth to a rare set of triplet tiger cubs. Unfortunately, due to complications in the pregnancy, the cubs were born prematurely and due to their tiny size, they died shortly after birth.

The mother tiger after recovering from the delivery suddenly started to decline in health, although physically she was fine. The veterinarians felt that the loss of her litter had caused the tigress to fall into a depression. The doctors decided that if the tigress could surrogate another mother’s cubs, perhaps she would improve.

After checking with many other zoos across the country, the depressing news was that there were no tiger cubs of the right age to introduce to the mourning mother. The veterinarians decided to try something that had never been tried in a zoo environment. Sometimes a mother of one species will take on the care of a different species.

The only orphans’ that could be found quickly were a litter of weanling pigs. The zoo keepers and vets wrapped the piglets in tiger skin and placed the babies around the mother tiger.

tig1.jpg

tig2.jpg

Would they become cubs or pork chops?

tig5.jpg

tig4.jpg

Now please tell me one more time……..

tig3.jpg

Why can’t the rest of the world get along?

16 Responses to “Why can’t the rest of the World get along?”

  1. cutie Says:

    look at cute lil tigger-pig hehhehe .. and for the world?? only god knows why ..

    God knows everything, Cutie. 😀

  2. Trinity Says:

    ooowwww~! that’s cute!! but the piglets cant growl.. how the foster mom could communicate with them? With love and licks only? 🙂 the rest of the world should really learn how to lick! 😀

    God works in miraculous & mysterious ways.
    I’m sure they can communicate without any problem, Trinity. 🙂

  3. angeles Says:

    because humans are more selfish? aihhhhhh….

    Some maybe.. but God knows, Angeles.

  4. iamikel Says:

    soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo cute…..
    no worries in this world, there are still people like that… and

    *cough cough*

    i think i am one of them…

    Ditto, Iamikel. 😛


  5. Tiger Pig, Tiger Pig,
    Does whatever a tiger pig does,
    Can they swing from a web?
    No they can’t they’re tiger pigs!
    Look out, here come the tiger pigs!

    Can’t wait till the mother teaches them to bring down large oxen and moose and stuff!

    Lions and Pigs and Bears! Oh my!
    Lions and Pigs and Bears! Oh My! 🙂

    Oh My! Oh My! 😛

    😆

    Thanks, Dabs. That was very entertaining.

  6. kat Says:

    Animals have more animality than humans have humanity?? 😀

    Sometimes I think being sentient is wasted on humans. Too intelligent for their own good!! 😛

    Hehe.. You’ve got a good point of view, Kat. 😉

  7. mistipurple Says:

    nature is amazing, and in this instant, with the help of man.
    yup, if only the world get along better.

    Yes, if only, Misti.

  8. Kyels Says:

    It is not hard for the world to get along but it is about how the people CHOOSE to adapt themselves w/ others.

    Well, there are definitely some flamers on my blog.. who gets beyond my tolerance (regardless of how hard I try), Kyels.

  9. zewt Says:

    no matter how… we are still different… unfortunately…

    That’s true, Zewt.

  10. LB Says:

    Goes to show not everything is pork chop, eh? Halal tigers..

    LB, do you mean as opposed to giddy tigers? 😛

    *just kidding Giddy Tigers*


  11. Kat – intelligence ainn’t waisted onn me! Oh weight, I thunk me just insulted me selve!!!

    Zext – I’m not. I’m the same!

  12. Tine Says:

    At the end of the day, a pig will always be a pig, a tiger will always be a tiger, and it’s law of nature that the pig becomes the tiger’s food, regardless of how the pig’s “dressed up” to fool the tiger.

    And that is just the same with us humans. Sad, huh?

    *sigh* Very. 😦

    But.. but Tine, I hope I won’t end up as any tiger’s food. 😛

  13. meekiee Says:

    my dear jemima…
    this is a very touching post for me personally.
    thanks for sharing that.

    Hi Vicky.. it’s my pleasure to share this with all my readers.
    You take care now..

  14. Giddy Tiger Says:

    Those pictures are so precious! I love polka-dotted pigs but I think I like tiger-stripes ones now too!

    Hehe.. I’m pretty sure you do, Giddy Tiger. 😉

  15. alice Says:

    Seen this in a zoo in Bangkok and the reverse too where the pig mothered the tiger cubs in exchange.

    WOW! That would have been interesting to watch.

    Thanks for sharing, Alice. 🙂

  16. Nancy Reid Says:

    What a good time to spread this email once again.


Leave a Reply

