Life before Computers!

March 28, 2008

An application was for employment.

A program was a TV show.

A cursor used profanity.

A keyboard was on a piano.

Memory was something that you lost with age.

A CD was a bank account.

If you had a corrupted disk, it would hurt when you found out.

Compress was what you did to garbage, not something you did to a file.

If you unzipped anything in public, you’d be in jail for a while.

Log on was adding wood to a fire.

A hard drive was a trip on the road.

A mouse pad was where a mouse lived.

A backup happened to the commode.

Cutting, you did with a pocket knife.

Pasting, you did with glue.

The Web was where a spider lived.

A virus was the flu.

jk_b4computers.jpg

There’s more to life than surfing the net & blogging.
Get out there & enjoy your weekend with your family & friends.
You won’t regret it.
🙂
17 Responses to “Life before Computers!”

  1. LB Says:

    LOL!! How true!!! And jpg used to mean Jean Paul Gaultier

    Hahaha.. Thanks for sharing, LB. 😛

  2. trinity Says:

    Hahahaha… thanks for reminding us! I got sick children besides blogging indeed.. 😉

    I’m sure they will recover in no time with your TLC, Trinity. 🙂

  3. iamikel Says:

    hahahahaha…. so i cannot surf net and blog d ah? 😦

    take care! 🙂 happy weekend!

    Can!!! But, bear in mind that there’s more to life, Iamikel.

    Enjoy your weekend too.. 🙂

  4. _butt Says:

    you know, this post is so spot-on!

    happy weekend, Jemima 🙂

    I’m glad you think so.

    Have a great weekend, _butt. 🙂


  5. Thank you for posting this! That’s my excuse for not blogging so much recently!

    I’m happy to hear that, Giddy Tigress. 🙂

  6. angeles Says:

    *sings..*
    It’s my life…
    *forgot lyrics liao*
    😛

    But I love my computer… and I sleep with her… she is part of my family :mrgreen:

    Happy Weekend!

    I hope you remember to switch off your web-cam when you’re sleeping, Angeles. 😛

    Happy Weekend to you too… 😉

  7. mistipurple Says:

    advancement in time is a step backwards for humanity.
    this is so funny, lol.
    and i just read what you wrote. wink.

    I’m glad you had a good laugh, Misti.

    *double winks*

  8. Tine Says:

    I laughed out loud when I read about the backup happening to the commode 😛

    Have a good weekend, Jem *hugs*

    I can imagine you laughing out loud, Tine. 😛

    HAppy Weekend to you & Tim. *hugs*


  9. ‘Log on was adding wood to a fire.’

    Heya!!!! Computer Log is a log as in a Captains log on a ship. You know, a SHIPS LOG. From Logos! For Word!!!! 🙂
    Captains logs were around a long time before computers too, but it has the same meaning [of keeping a written record of things which happen. Just computer ones don’t make much sense a lot of the time!] 🙂

    Thanks for the History lesson, Dabs. 😉

  10. Kyels Says:

    My weekend is busted b/c it’s filled w/work! Have an enjoyable weekend yourself dear. Hugs!

    (:

    Thanks, Kyels.
    I hope you can find time to have a short break. *Huge Hugs*

  11. Lex Says:

    hope you are doing good 🙂

    Thanks, Lex.
    Life ain’t bad at all.. *hugs*

  12. cheepee Says:

    i know i wouldn’t .. you have a great weekend to J!!

    i like the way to put the IT terms into the ‘term’ they were use to be .. hmmm 🙂

    Glad to know you like this post too, Cheepee.

    Enjoy your weekend with your family. *hugs*

  13. Zhu Says:

    Funny and… so true! I had to read a couple of definitions twice cause I didn’t grasp the original meaning… that’s how wired I am!

    No worries, Zhu. 😉
    I’m glad you got them all work out. 😛

  14. Sha Says:

    Hahaha, very good and thoought-provoking list! I wonder how different words would mean 10 years from now!

    Let’s wait another 10 years to find out, Sha. 😛

  15. Angele Says:

    So very true 🙂 And sometimes we need to be reminded of those things.

    Hope you are doing fine Jem.

    *muaks*

    I’m not too bad, Angele. Thanks. 🙂

    XOXOXO

  16. day-dreamer Says:

    LOL! Good one! 😀

    Thanks, D-D. 😛

  17. may Says:

    oh, definitely enjoying life outside of the computer over here… *wink*

    I’m really glad to know that, May. *double 😉


Leave a Reply

