Beauty

April 4, 2008

 jk_staingwin.jpg

People are like stained-glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in; their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within.  ~Elisabeth Kubler-Ross~

 jk_truelove.jpg

For every beauty there is an eye somewhere to see it. For every truth there is an ear somewhere to hear it. For every love there is a heart somewhere to receive it.  ~Ivan Panin~

jk_oldyoungwoman.jpg

As we grow old, the beauty steals inward.  ~Ralph Waldo Emerson~

jk_beaueyes.jpg

We live in a wonderful world that is full of beauty, charm and adventure. There is no end to the adventures that we can have if only we seek them with our eyes open.  ~Jawaharlal Nehru~

What is your definition of Beauty?

Interesting read: Nagging Truth

16 Responses to “Beauty”

  1. trinity Says:

    aaawww… so beautiful! so sweet! so poetic!

    Thanks, Trinity. 🙂

  2. Zhu Says:

    Nice collection of quote… the first one is beautiful.

    I like all of them, Zhu. 🙂

  3. _butt Says:

    I liked Ralph Waldo Emerson’s definition the most. but to me, well, since beauty is always an abstract subject to discuss I would say generally the earth that we lived in is the beauty itself 🙂

    cheers. happy weekend Jemima

    That’s true, _butt.

    Enjoy your weekend, my friend. 🙂

  4. trinity Says:

    “The first daughter he named Jemimah, …. nowhere in all the land were there found women as beautiful as Job’s daughters, and their father granted them an inheritance along with their brothers… *wink*

    I know, Trinity. 😉

    Btw, if you have a new-born baby girl, would you ever name her Jemimah? 😛

  5. mistipurple Says:

    Beauty is The Beast. he loved her truly.

    Indeed, Misti. 🙂


  6. The best and most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched – they must be felt with the heart.
    Helen Keller

    Another very popular quote that I love about beauty. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing, Giddy Tigress.

  7. Kyels Says:

    Everyone has their own definition for beauty. People think that it’s shallow if you fall in love w/beauty but it’s the otherwise for myself b/c I believe that we are creatures w/visions for beauty. Hence we are always attracted to beautiful people and items. I’m not naive but that’s from my own observation. But of course I’m not comparing external and internal beauty b/c it’s just a general term of how beauty can be defined by each person.

    (:

    Well said, my friend. 🙂

    As for me, I believe the best beauty is from within.

  8. LB Says:

    Beauty, right now, is my iPhone!! But beauty comes and goes, unfortunately.. What may be beauty one day may turn out horrible another.. *looking at the divorce rates shooting thru the roof*

    I guess beauty and cynical does not go together!! But there is beauty, and then there is Beauty.. Some will remain, no matter what, come what may.

    Hmmm.. so, nothing lasts forever.. not even beauty.
    What about love, LB?
    Despite the high divorce rates, I believe some love is eternal, regardless of the faded physical beauty ‘cos the internal one remains. 😉

  9. moz Says:

    Beauty is simply in the eyes of the beholder.

    I no longer argue that it’s internal or external. I believe nowadays its all in the complete package – it’s got to be everything in that person. One nice body part or a good overall look, those means nothing to me.

    Hear! Hear! Long Live Moz! 😀

    Thanks for dropping by. 😉

  10. misha Says:

    mish mish hugs hugs jiejie 🙂

    *hugs Misha tight tight* 🙂


  11. PIZZA!!!!

    But, that’s enough about my idea of beauty. What’s yours?

    Your comment, Dabs. 😛

    😆

  12. Cocka Doodle Says:

    Cocka’s definition of beauty….36C-24-36…

    CD, have you found her yet? 😛

  13. angeles Says:

    When I like it, it’s beautiful 😉

    Wah! That’s deep, Angeles. 😆

  14. mistipurple Says:

    all the zombies that lurk in sampatland are beauties. :p

    Hahaha.. I’m sure they’ll all agree, Misti. 😛

  15. may Says:

    it’s true when they say that beauty is in the eyes of the beholder. and everything beautiful deserves to be loved.

    We all deserved to be loved. Hence, we’re all beautiful, May. 😀


  16. Glad CD’s definition isn’t 36 42 36 … cause that’s me!!!! Okay, I lied, I’m actually about 36 98 36 … but I lie about my waist!!! 🙂

    LOL!!! 😆
    Dabs, you’re really kidding, right? 😛


Leave a Reply

