Being Happy

April 23, 2008

This post is dedicated to a very good friend.

Being happy is liking the way you feel and being open to the future without fear.

Being happy is accepting yourself at this place and time.

Being happy is not being perfect, becoming rich, falling in love, having power, knowing the right people, or succeeding in your job.

Being happy is liking yourself the way you are right now – maybe not all of yourself, but the essential you.

You deserve to love yourself for the way you are at this moment.

If you think you have to be more than you are now to be happy and love yourself, you are imposing impossible conditions on yourself.

Only you know yourself the way you do. You can compile the longest and least sympathetic inventory of your faults. At any time, no matter how successful or accomplished you become, you will be able to undermine your happiness by reciting this list of faults.

Know your faults but do not allow their existence to become an excuse for not loving yourself just the way you are.

14 Responses to “Being Happy”

  1. LB Says:

    True true… but I want to be just happier… 🙂
    *too greedy?*

    Nah.. I don’t think that is being greedy, LB. 😉

  2. mistipurple Says:

    awww you posted this for me, you’re referring to me me me.

    heh.

    modesty is not my strong point.

    Of course, it’s for you, you & you. 😛

    Don’t we all know that, Misti? 😛

    *just kidding* 😉

  3. iamikel Says:

    i love u. u love me. we are HAPPY family.. with a GREAT big and a kiss from me to you. Won’t you say u love me too…..

    hehe

    Thanks for the serenade, Iamikel. 🙂

  4. trinity Says:

    iHappy! iHappy! Because I am specially made with love by my Master!

    Praise the Master for giving us such a happy & wonderful person/blogger in you, Trinity. 🙂

  5. that friend Says:

    Thanks Jemima, thank you… I’m working on it. Call you some time again. 🙂

    That’s what friends are for. 😉
    I’m happy to hear that.

    Talk to you soon.. *hugs*

  6. _butt Says:

    happy thoughts. focus! lol 😀

    Definitely, _butt. 😉

  7. Angele Says:

    I like that quote:

    “Being happy doesn’t mean everything is perfect. It means you have decided to look beyond the imperfections.”

    So true. 🙂

    *big hugs*

    *nods in agreement with Angele.* 🙂

    *returns big hugs*


  8. ‘Being happy is not being perfect’

    Yeah, but I’m not going to hate myself just because I am perfect. 🙂
    [I am perfect at being me] 🙂

    Ditto, Dabs. 🙂

  9. Kyels Says:

    Such a nice post, really!

    (:

    Thanks, Kyels. 🙂

  10. angeles Says:

    i wish u happiness, now & forevah!

    TGIF!!!

    Thanks for your well-wishes, Angeles. 🙂

    I wish you the same for always. 😉

  11. trinity Says:

    don’t leave that early, hunt for a chup in my archive now!

    I did find them, Trinity. 🙂

  12. lil Says:

    jem, how this is striking a chord…
    (((((((((jem)))))))))

    *smiles*

    *gives Lil HUGE HUGS*

  13. kyh Says:

    I’m happy, but tired now. *goes to zzz* 😛

    Sleep Well & Sweet Dreams, Kyh! 🙂

  14. Bennett Says:

    Nice post! So true. You might like my post on happiness…. http://bennettrainey.com/wordpress/?p=173


Leave a Reply

