The Wisdom in Hot Chocolate

May 4, 2008

A group of graduates, well established in their careers, were talking at a reunion and decided to go visit their old university professor, now retired.

During their visit, the conversation turned to complaints about stress in their work and lives.

Offering his guests hot chocolate, the professor went into the kitchen and returned with a large pot and an assortment of cups – porcelain, glass, crystal, some plain looking, some expensive, some exquisite – telling them to help themselves to the hot chocolate.

When they all had a cup of hot chocolate in hand, the professor said:

“Notice that all the nice looking, expensive cups were taken, leaving behind the plain and cheap ones. While it is normal for you to want only the best for yourselves, that is the source of your problems and stress. The cup that you’re drinking from adds nothing to the quality of the hot chocolate. In most cases it is just more expensive and in some cases even hides what we drink. What all of you really wanted was hot chocolate, not the cup; but you consciously went for the best cups. And then you began eyeing each other’s cups.”

Now consider this:

Life is the hot chocolate; your job, money and position in society are the cups. They are just tools to hold and contain life. The cup you have does not define, nor change the quality of life you have. Sometimes, by concentrating only on the cup, we fail to enjoy the hot chocolate God has provided us. God makes the hot chocolate, man chooses the cups.

The happiest people don’t have the best of everything. They just make the best of everything that they have.

Live simply. Love generously. Care deeply. Speak kindly. And enjoy your hot chocolate!!

24 Responses to “The Wisdom in Hot Chocolate”


  1. This is good, may i share it with others?
    my link: http://justlearningman.wordpress.com

    You’re welcome to share it, Winslie. 🙂

    Thanks for dropping by. 🙂

  2. day-dreamer Says:

    This is a nice one. Thanks for sharing, Jemima! *hugs*

    Glad you like it, D-D.
    The pleasure of sharing is mine. 🙂
    *hugs*


  3. Good Blog. I will continue reading it in the future. Nice layout too.

    Aaron Wakling

    Thank you for your compliments & support, Aaron. 🙂

  4. LB Says:

    But, the simplest, plainest cups are the coolest!

    LB, I bet you like the ones from Ikea. 😉

  5. zewt Says:

    what a beautiful message.

    That was my exact thought when I first read it, Zewt. 😉

  6. alison Says:

    and don’t forget to mindfully drink the hot chocolate too. life is a gift, be present to appreciate everything it has to offer.

    I won’t forget & I do appreciate, Alison. 🙂


  7. Depends on the quality of the hot chocolate too. As Billy Connolly once said, “I’ve been poor and miserable and I’ve been rich and miserable and I know which one I prefer.’ 🙂

    Anywat, I love hot chocolate … or chocolate milk, or just chocolate. Wish I wasnt’ allergic to the stuff!

    Dabs, you still take them despite your allergies???

  8. boss cat Says:

    thank you for your wonderful message. I will keep it in mind

    and btw,

    where’s my hot chocolate?

    hehe

    I’m keeping it in mind too..

    There’s two. Take one, Iamikel. 😛

  9. iamikel Says:

    don’t want. want you bancuh for me..

    *buat muka merajuk*

    You look so cute when you merajuk, Iamikel. 😛

  10. _butt Says:

    nice. I read the same version of it, though not hot chocolate. it’s coffee. have it my blog heheh

    have a great weekday ahead Jemima 🙂

    Ditto, _butt. 😀

    Wishing you a good coming week too.. 🙂

  11. h.c.tan Says:

    thanks for sharing this! now i shall not complain no more. hehe. at least this week. muax

    Babe, by doing that.. you would have taken a positive step forward. 😉

    XOXOXO

  12. trinity Says:

    *sipping my hot chocolate* Hm… life is good! Thank you Lord!!

    *cheers!!* *grin*

    Praise the Lord, Trinity. 🙂


  13. How cool is this! Great post… I’ll take a cup of hot chocolate now…so therapeutic

    Time for me to have a cuppa too, Giddy Tigress. 🙂

  14. Cocka Doodle Says:

    Chocolate is aphrodisiac. Drink already do what? *drools*

    CD, I never knew that cocks/chooks can drink chocolate. 😆

  15. LB Says:

    Yup, plain white, simple, sans any embellishment!

    LB, I bet you would want your bride-to-be to wear white too.. 😛


  16. Yes, I risk my allergies for yummy foods. lol

    I believe you would, Dabs. 😆

  17. Kyels Says:

    Beautiful message! Thanks for sharing.

    (:

    HUGS!

    My pleasure, Kyels. 🙂

    *HUGS*

  18. Tine Says:

    Time for me to go make myself a cup of hot Milo now 😛

    Yay! Do that, Tine. 😉

  19. stev Says:

    lesson: marketing pays for things to be in nice mugs? 😛

    still, simplicity & not over-paying are good lessons as well

    mmm… coffee… =D

    Marketing also pays for things in plastic/styrofoam cups.

    Now? It keeps me awake & I need my beauty sleep, Stev. 😛

  20. waz Says:

    wise words!
    i tend not to speak kindly…so i remain very very very quiet most of them times!
    as for care deeply, sometimes, i care too much and i end up depressed!!! ;( but still, i guess in the end, it’s worth it…think positive, huh? 🙂

    Not only think positive but act positive, Waz. 😉

  21. waz Says:

    trying to ! 😛

    I’m glad to know that, Waz. 😉

  22. andiesummerkiss Says:

    This is my most favourite post of the week.

    *bows & curtsies to Andie’s compliments*


  23. The Wisdom In Chocolate is a great story and message – Would like to include in our December Newsletter – Do we have your permission and how would you like the credit to read?

    You’re most welcome to use it, William. 🙂
    The story wasn’t even mine. It was emailed to me.
    Hence, I’ve no idea who the author is.


  24. […] Wisdom in Hot Chocolate 原文網址:https://jemima.wordpress.com/2008/05/04/the-wisdom-in-hot-chocolate/ May 4, 2008 A group of graduates, well established in their careers, were talking at a reunion and […]


Leave a Reply

