Slow Dance

May 6, 2008

Have you ever watched kids on a merry-go-round,
or listened to rain slapping the ground?

Ever followed a butterfly’s erratic flight,
or gazed at the sun fading into the night?

You better slow down, don’t dance so fast,
time is short, the music won’t last.

Do you run through each day on the fly,
when you ask “How are you?”, do you hear the reply?

When the day is done, do you lie in your bed,
with the next hundred chores running through your head?

You better slow down, don’t dance so fast,
time is short, the music won’t last.

Ever told your child, we’ll do it tomorrow,
and in your haste, not see his sorrow?

Ever lost touch, let a friendship die,
’cause you never had time to call and say hi?

You better slow down, don’t dance so fast,
time is short, the music won’t last.

When you run so fast to get somewhere,
you miss half the fun of getting there.

When you worry and hurry through your day,
it’s like an unopened gift thrown away.

Life isn’t a race, so take it slower,
hear the music before your song is over.

Poem: David L. Weatherford
Painting & Sketch: Soul Mates by Tony Chow
11 Responses to “Slow Dance”

  1. LB Says:

    I remember my slow dances from many many many many moons ago… *sigh* how romantic.. and how nice..

    What’s stopping you now, LB? 😉

  2. trinity Says:

    waaah my slowdance was… 20 years ago!! with the song because I love you, hehehe.. it’s when I was in junior high school.. awwwww

    Awwwww.. indeed, Trinity. 😉

  3. mistipurple Says:

    i stepped on his foot and never saw him again.
    -mistifat.

    I believe there are many others out there who can’t wait to slow dance with you now, Misti. 😉

  4. mistipurple Says:

    that’s so shweet of you to say that!
    *waits* *ties big foot a size smaller*

    The truth is always sweet, Misti. 😉

    *helps Misti to tighten her big foot* 😆

  5. trinity Says:

    Jemima, I have the Slow dance poem, and I was about to write it here for you.. I was so silly that in fact, it was the same poem with this post… hehehe.. Love this poem forever.. since ages… I wonder why I forgot the words..hehehe.. I think I misplace my brain.

    Hehehe.. Maybe it’s too early in the morning for your brain to compute, Trinity. 😛
    Anyway, if you had written it here, my guess is that those who read your comment will be reading the beautiful poem twice. 😉

  6. angeles Says:

    *dreams of slowdancing*
    *plonk*
    :mrgreen:

    ps: I’m good, thanks for asking 🙂 XOXO

    Don’t dream, Angeles.
    Go out & do it. 😉

    Glad to know you’re ok. *hugs & muaks*

  7. Kyels Says:

    Slow dances?! It depends on whom you are dancing w/and right now I want to club. My brain’s fried and dying in exhaustion.

    Damn.

    How are you?

    Go clubbing with your friends, Kyels.
    You deserve it after all the hard work you’ve been through.

    I’m not too bad. Thanks for asking. 🙂

  8. Operaman Says:

    ……hmmmmmmm we will dance? or we will sing? u confuse me

    Welcome, Operaman. 🙂

    Not to worry, I confuse myself all the time. 😛

  9. Operaman Says:

    …….you confuse me……..we will dance or we will sing?

    Please refer to my reply above, Operaman. 😉

  10. trinity Says:

    just one more comment to go to number 200 at LB Jemima, for you.. 🙂 *wink* it’s your turn to dance..

    I’ve danced in & out of there, Trinity. 😉

    Thanks for the info. 😛

  11. stev Says:

    really at peace looking & reflecting at those words

    also reminded of buble somehow 😛

    Which Buble’s song, Stev? 😉


Leave a Reply

