Please Yourself

May 29, 2008

If you are going to die your own death, you might as well live your own life.

Whenever you try to please other people, you make their feelings more important than your own.

If you postpone your pleasure and always put others first, even if you think you are doing so out of love, you end up being disappointed in their response to you.

Somehow it is never enough when you try to please others, for you or for them.

You end up expecting too much. This leads to resentment.

Soon life loses its pleasure, because you depend on other people to make you happy, and you do not believe anyone truly can.

No one knows how to please you the way you know how to please yourself.

12 Responses to “Please Yourself”

  1. trinity Says:

    well, I postpone my pleasure to go with my hubby to Germany now, and I do it with pleasure because of my kids… how about that?

    You love your family more than yourself… so I’m sure you get great pleasure for yourself by doing it for them, Trinity. πŸ™‚

  2. zewt Says:

    well, we should say… we should learn to please God first right?

    It’s easier to please God than people, Zewt. πŸ™‚

  3. mistipurple Says:

    sings.. ‘i am woman hear me roar’. grins.

    You’re YOU, Misti. πŸ˜‰

  4. day-dreamer Says:

    OMG I feel that so much!!!!!

    *gives D-D a high-5* πŸ˜›

  5. LB Says:

    I think the trick is to make sure you don’t give too much, nor ask for too much. A good balance always (usually) works better than the extremes..

    Good advice, LB. πŸ™‚

  6. _butt Says:

    good one Jemima! πŸ˜€

    happy weekend!

    I’m glad you like it, _butt. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy your weekend! πŸ™‚

  7. Kyels Says:

    If you postpone your pleasure and always put others first, even if you think you are doing so out of love, you end up being disappointed in their response to you.

    This is so true Jem … You’re right, it’s better to please ourselves before pleasing others.

    [:

    Glad you share my sentiments, Kyels. πŸ™‚


  8. PIZZA!!!! Wooops, sorry, just pleasing myself again! πŸ™‚

    That’s the way it should be, Dabs. πŸ™‚

    Any leftovers for me? πŸ˜›


  9. No leftovers … I ate all my pizza and my brother Jeff ate all leftovers from other pizzas! πŸ™‚

    Next time then, Dabs. πŸ˜‰

  10. kyh Says:

    True true… Imagine you’ve to please each and everyone of them! Might as well please ourselves….

    As you agreed, Kyh.. “True true…” πŸ™‚

  11. kat Says:

    No wonder I don’t have a maid… no one can clean the way I know how to clean.. πŸ˜€

    Hahaha.. I can fully understand that, Kat. πŸ˜›

  12. stev Says:

    mmm. would sum it as that we need to lead our lives for ourselves. yet at the same time being considerate for those around us & our loved ones.

    like most things in life, balance is always the key =)

    Bingo, Stev. πŸ™‚

    Btw, welcome back! πŸ˜›


Leave a Reply

