Grateful

October 19, 2008

Find Something to Be Grateful For

**************************************************************

You can make a case for the sky falling if you want.

Perhaps your argument will be true in one instance, but negative logic really doesn’t hold up over the long run.

Negative logic is almost always false, even though you could reason that there is always something bad happening to you all the time.

There is always something good happening as well.

It gets a little hard to see it when you are only focused on the negative.

The world is neither good nor bad. At best it is neutral.

You make the case that your unresolved pain demands.

When you are afraid, you find things to fear all around you.

When you are hurt, you see suffering and hopelessness.

When you are angry, you discern plots and enemies lurking everywhere.

When you feel guilty, you seek out disappointment and take it as well-deserved punishment and lose your will to grow.

Of course, while all of this negativity is going on, something good is also taking place.

Find that good.

Be grateful for finding it.

Your seeking the good is the greatest good you’ll find.

**************************************************************

I am grateful for music.

I am grateful for the stars.

I thank flowers.

Being is my reward.

10 Responses to “Grateful”

  1. jemima Says:

    Dear Friends,

    Thank you for your comments in my last post.
    I’ll be back to reply them soon.

    *HUGS*

  2. Angele Says:

    Hey there Jem,

    I sent u an sms last week but u didn’t reply. Did you get it? I hope everything’s fine on your side.

    Hugs

    I did reply, Angele.
    Anyway, I’ll sent you another reply later.
    Thanks.

    *HUGS*

  3. Trinity Says:

    I am grateful for my family… my talents… and my chance to use my talents to glorify the Lord…

    I’m grateful for you too, Trinity. πŸ™‚

  4. Kyels Says:

    We need to be grateful for everything but this is an intangible attitude that is hard for one to instill into another.

    I’m grateful to have you as a friend. A good one!

    πŸ˜‰

    HUGS!

    Kyels, I’m very grateful to have you as my friend too.

    *HUGS*

  5. waz Says:

    I’m grateful that at long last, I have been able to surmount my fears of failure and depression. In so doing, I have finished uni and got meself a job. Everyday is still a struggle against the onslaught of them thoughts of hopelessness. But, knowing that I can better them even without support…I’m grateful (but tired)!

    I’m grateful that you’re able to share your personal experience with us, Waz.
    I’m confident that you’ll continue to be grateful for every new experience that crosses your path. πŸ™‚

  6. Dabido Says:

    ‘You can make a case for the sky falling if you want.’

    Would have to be a BIG CASE to fit all the sky in it. πŸ™‚

    ‘negative logic really doesn’t hold up over the long run.’

    Unless the run is backwards. Ever tried a long run backwards. You start at the end of a marathon and run and run till you get to the starting line and come in last place! πŸ™‚ [Not to mention the amount of times you trip over!] *OW, MY HEAD*

    ‘you could reason that there is always something bad happening to you all the time.’

    Yeah, I keep hanging out with this dork who thinks he is funny. Oh wait, it’s me! Arrrrgh!

    ‘There is always something good happening as well.’

    Okay, I admit it! I do find the dork funny! πŸ™‚

    ‘It gets a little hard to see it when you are only focused on the negative.’

    At my age, everything is hard to see. πŸ™‚

    ‘The world is neither good nor bad. At best it is neutral.’

    Speak for your own world. Mines trying to eat me. Let go me leg! Let go me leg! Ow!~ Ow~ Oh wait, it’s the dog. πŸ™‚

    ‘You make the case that your unresolved pain demands.’

    Is this the same case I already stuck the sky in? Cause I’m sure I’m well over my baggage allowance for flying.

    ‘When you are afraid, you find things to fear all around you.’

    The only thing we have to fear, is fear itself … and tequila body shots! Oh man, was I sick after them! Oh, and maybe the monster under the bed.

    George the Monster: There’s that creepy sound again. Do you think there’s a human on top of the bed?
    Bob the Monster: Don’t be stupid, George. You know there’s no such thing as humans!

    ‘When you are hurt, you see suffering and hopelessness.’

    Mainly my own suffering when I am hurt.

    ‘When you are angry, you discern plots and enemies lurking everywhere.’

    Which means when you are angry you are seeing the world as it really is. πŸ™‚ Now I have to run away. The CIA and aliens are after me again! RUN!!!! πŸ™‚

    ‘When you feel guilty, you seek out disappointment and take it as well-deserved punishment and lose your will to grow.’

    Just spank me, baby!!!! πŸ™‚ I deserve it! πŸ™‚

    ‘Of course, while all of this negativity is going on, something good is also taking place.’

    I was sort of hoping the spanking was the good!

    ‘Your seeking the good is the greatest good you’ll find.’

    But … but … what about the spanking ?????

    Gosh! Dabs, would you like to write my next post for me??? πŸ˜›

  7. yhen Says:

    in everything “Give Thanks”

    tnx for this nice post jem!

    That’s right! πŸ™‚

    It’s my pleasure, Yhen. πŸ˜€

  8. mistipurple Says:

    i just accept situations. sometimes not very gratefully, but it will have to do. either i’ve gone mouldy or my faith is stronger.

    Either way, I still love you for you, Misti. πŸ™‚


  9. Great words Jem! πŸ™‚

    Thanks, Giddy. πŸ™‚


  10. I love this line: “Your seeking the good is the greatest good you’ll find.”

    So true.

    It is true, Kenny. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

