Take the Time to Do Nothing

January 16, 2009

ma_4744night-moves-posters

Time for gathering your thoughts.

Time for feeling the sun.

Time for listening to the sounds of nature.

Too many events fill your day, crowd you out of your life, and leave you exhausted without a clear recollection of what you did.

If you paused and took time to put expectations and schedules aside and took a walk instead of lunch, you’d remember that time, empty of intention, more clearly than your busy day.

It is in the empty spaces that life takes place – not in the planning, but in the repose.

You need to be present for what is not there as much as you are for what is.

You need to sense the volume of things.

The expanse of the sky.

The breadth of horizon.

You are measured by the things you see.

Your contemplation shapes your life as much as your doing.

Be more on the edge, where looking out and looking in meet.

All truth gathers there and defines your being.

**************************************************

I experience everything.

I hold onto nothing.

I become the world.

**************************************************

Painting: Night Moves by MigdaliaΒ  Arellano

12 Responses to “Take the Time to Do Nothing”


  1. So right. I am going to take a couple of hours off today and just head to my fav cafe and chill out and not think. Just let go…

    I wish you a good time, Kenny. πŸ˜‰


  2. Ah yes, the perfect reason to shake legs! πŸ™‚

    C’mon, Giddy! Let us shake them together. πŸ˜›

  3. Dabido Says:

    I take time to do nothing every day. My mother and boss says it’s LAZINESS! πŸ™‚

    Every day? Of course, it’s laziness, Dabs. πŸ˜›

  4. boss cat Says:

    oooooooo.. I want that. uhmmmm for everyday?

    LOL

    Read Dabido’s comment & my reply, Boss Cat. πŸ˜›

  5. Devi Girsang Says:

    Nice painting!

    Anyway it’s so true. I believe we all should have me-time to reduce stress and enjoy the life other than working all the time πŸ™‚

    I seconded your belief, Devi. πŸ˜‰

  6. Jes Says:

    There is a zen saying…

    Do nothing and something will happen

    Definitely!!!

    Welcome, Jes. πŸ™‚

    Ditto! πŸ˜›

  7. Dabido Says:

    No it’s not. It’s just practicing being lazy. πŸ™‚

    LOL… Ok, Dabs. πŸ˜›


  8. Aah… to do nothing… When we were kids, we called it boring. When we’re now grown, we yearn for it and call it a luxury… πŸ˜‰

    I couldn’t agree more, Lizzy. πŸ˜‰

  9. Kyels Says:

    Sometimes I do that. I’ll go and sit at the park and stare into nothing for a few minutes or an hour … Just me, myself and nature.

    I bet you feel good after that, Kyels. πŸ˜‰


  10. Life is a force that keeps on going. Without an activity we are nothing. Without sex there is no orgasm.

    LOL… You definitely speak your mind, Colegiala girl. πŸ˜›

  11. _butt Says:

    I love the painting. πŸ™‚

    two days ago I was in the mall and saw someone playing piano. I just sat down and watch and listen. just me and the sounds of piano.

    I’m glad you like it, _butt. πŸ˜‰

    I bet you enjoyed every note that was played. πŸ˜€

  12. yhen Says:

    wanna try this one… hopefully it will freshen me up and be stressed free even just for a day! πŸ˜‰

    have a nice weekend jem! πŸ˜‰

    I bet it will, Yhen. πŸ˜‰

    A Blessed weekend to you. πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

