Stop – In The Name of Calm!

February 23, 2009

“Stop worrying about the future,
the past, the unknown. Stop scurrying
from one draining activity to the next.
Stop long enough to close your eyes,
breathe deeply, and whisper a prayer.”

– Molly Ringwald, Heavenly Ways to Handle Stress

Our society fosters the belief that “busy is good”. The more items on our daily agenda and the more tasks on our plate, the more important we feel. From a stress perspective, more is not better. When we begin to dread our daily challenges and resent their toll on our psyches, it’s time to say “Stop. No more.”

Ponder:
When was the last time you said “yes” to a commitment though you wanted to say “no”?
What choices can you make today to say “no” to more unneeded stress?

jk_stopstress1

4 Responses to “Stop – In The Name of Calm!”

  1. Bosscat Says:

    we don’t like seeing others busy… so we make ourselves look busier.

    *typical kiasu people*

    Hahaha.. that’s true, Bosscat. 😛


  2. hehe…I love that photo!

    I’m glad to know that, Giddy Tigress. 😀

  3. Kyels Says:

    I like being busy but at the same time I’d always enjoy it if I’m not busy b/c I’ll have ample time to re-evaluate the things I did and said … Hehe.

    😀

    That’s a wise act, Kyels. 😉

  4. Yan Says:

    A year ago, I started to unwind myself after a day’s work with some exercises – walking or on my cross-trainer.

    At the same time, I also travelled with my walking shoes packed for either a workout in gym or walking in a park nearby my hotel – whichever available.

    Hubby is more innovative, no gym or park? He can walk on the hotel’s staircases!

    It works very well – mentally, physically and for mind, body and soul.

    A bit late to start though. Some parts of the mind, body and soul could have been “permanently damaged” over the years 🙂

    Hey, you’re definitely more healthy than me, Yan. 😛
    I really need to get into 1st gear when it comes to physical exercise.

    Thanks for sharing your personal experience. Much appreciated. 😀


Leave a Reply

