“what, and if.”

September 13, 2010

“what, and if.” Those two words standing alone are basically harmless, but link them together and those two words possess great power. What if?

What if I didn’t listen to all the messages, signs and ignored my destiny? What if I had not recognized true love when it came to me? What if? What are your what ifs?

Transition time is a time when we wonder about all the roads not taken. For some dreams and ideas the time has past and we must gently set them aside. Other dreams are still attainable if you have the courage to try. The choice is yours…

~Quote from Letters to Juliet~

What if you live from the heart? Chances are you will experience life in the most amazing ways, in the most exotic places with the most beautiful people. Chances are you will also experience pain and suffering that you would not normally see in a stagnant life, or chasing a life path you think you should follow.

What if you learn from the heart? Chances are you will never grow tired of wonderful workings of every little thing. Chances are you will also think you are running out of time in this life as it’s too short to absorb everything that stimulates you.

What if you love from the heart? Chances are you will never feel more joy and excitement than when you connect with someone without reservation. Chances are you will also leave yourself vulnerable to intense hurt, grief and loneliness.

I only hope that I have the courage to always follow my heart, because life is really too short.

8 Responses to ““what, and if.””

  1. bendedspoon Says:

    what if i didn’t say, ‘Hi’?
    would i feel the same high?
    what if i didn’t say, ‘Goodbye’?
    would i have the same good vibes?
    no regrets in my what ifs
    like, what if i didn’t check in here back then?
    🙂


  2. If I thought about all the what ifs in my life, I’ll never get any rest. We shouldn’t ponder on all the possibilities and probabilities for the things of the past though it is human nature to do.

    • jemima Says:

      We shouldn’t ponder on all the possibilities and probabilities for the things of the past though it is human nature to do.

      I agree with you, Lizzy…& we’re all humans. 😛

  3. gfad Says:

    ‘What if’ – ranks up there with ‘Should have’ in the list of words that brings man to madness. I say, just live and bear the consequences – good or otherwise!

    Chinese HK drama serials have a saying – If only everyone knew, there’d be no beggars (literal translation). 😀

    Thank you so much for your words of comfort, Jem. I really appreciate it. Thanks you from the bottom of my heart. *hugs*

    • jemima Says:

      Good advice, you have there, Kat. 😉

      That’s what friends are for, Kat. There’s really no need for you to thank me. After all, you’ve been there for me too…

      *HUGS*


  4. This post is a perfect read for me today cos I’m feeling the same way. Listening to our own voices… That makes all the difference…

    • jemima Says:

      All humans.. regardless of where we are, race, gender.. somehow, we all have the same feelings one way or another.

      Take care, my friend.
      Hopefully the weekend will take away your blues. 😉


Leave a Reply

