New Shoes

March 13, 2012

10 Responses to “New Shoes”

  1. Kenny Mah Says:

    And a new attitude can change our lives even more! :D

  2. CK Says:

    I want a new pair of shoes too! :P

  3. Kenny Mah Says:

    LOL. Maybe. :P

    P.S. I’ve re-instated the threaded/nested comments on my blog but limited it to two levels only so it doesn’t get messy. That means if you’d like to reply to a comment that is more than 1 level deep, you just have to click the first comment’s reply button and it will nest in a vertical flow.

    Sounds technical? Not really – just my explanation sucks lah. But I think you get it. This way can see all the comments from each person as a group/collection. :)

    P.P.S. I say this cos I “moved” your second comment in today’s post to join your earlier comment and my reply to you. Hehe.

    P.P.P.S. You’ll see a diff email account listed for this comment cos WordPress is giving me some problems. LOL

    • jemima Says:

      Kenny, thanks for the “not-so technical” advice. If you haven’t told me, I would not have not noticed the subtle reply button. LOL

  4. Yan Says:

    Hi, it is me again. Have you heard of this shoe story before?

    I like to tell this story of Joseph Henry, the founder of the Smithsonian Institution to my two children, Rachel and Christopher when they were younger.

    Joseph Henry told this story of himself. When he was a child his grandmother offered to have a pair of shoes made for him. He went to the cobbler. The cobbler measured his feet and gave him a choice of two styles, either square-toed or round-toed.

    Joseph Henry could not make up his mind. He requested for a day to consider. But he never decided. After a week the cobbler delivered the finished shoes to his house. To his horror, one was square-toed and other round-toed!

    Many years later he said, “I had to wear those shoes for a long time. They were constant reminders of the cost of indecision: Someone else will decide for you.”

    • jemima Says:

      Thanks so much for sharing the story, Yan. :D
      I’ve never heard or read it before.

      Thanks to my parents.. they’ve taught me to make independent decisions. :D

      Btw, I envy your children. You must have shared some other wonderful stories with them. ;)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

