Things they don’t teach me..

May 19, 2011

“I’ve been making a list of the things they don’t teach you at school. They don’t teach you how to love somebody. They don’t teach you how to be famous. They don’t teach you how to be rich or how to be poor. They don’t teach you how to walk away from someone you don’t love any longer. They don’t teach you how to know what’s going on in someone else’s mind. They don’t teach you what to say to someone who’s dying. They don’t teach you anything worth knowing.”
Neil Gaiman (The Kindly Ones)

8 Responses to “Things they don’t teach me..”


  1. Oh sweet. I love ‘The Kindly Ones’ arc of Neil Gaiman’s The Sandman series. And it’s true… so many things they don’t teach us, that we shall benefit from learning on our own. 🙂

    P.S. FYI, one of my posts got “accidentally” posted this morning before I had a chance to vet through it, so I’ve taken it off the blog and scheduled it for tomorrow. So don’t worry, your comment will appear duly; it didn’t disappear or get deleted. 😛


  2. We learn more from the world and school of hardknocks than the conventional school 🙂

    But school did teach me one thing, teachers only remember the notorious students or class. LOL Yes… My class was rather notorious.

  3. doc Says:

    this looks like an interesting read. thanks for the link.

    nowadays, they don’t only not teach you anything worth knowing, they teach the wrong stuff as well, eg. holier-than-thou attitude, revamped history, racial & religious supremacy, etc.


Leave a comment