Accept Yourself

May 15, 2008

When you don’t accept yourself, you become oversensitive to rejection.

When you don’t accept yourself, you lose faith every time you trip over an old weakness.

When you don’t accept yourself, you waste time looking for love to make you complete.

When you don’t accept yourself, you try to beat others rather than seeking your best.

When you don’t accept yourself, you always feel lonely, and being with other people doesn’t seem to help.

When you don’t accept yourself, you live in the past.

Acceptance is not a hopeless position; it is the only position from which you can grow.

If you accept all of your life, none of it will have been wasted.

When you don’t accept yourself, you dread what each day may reveal about you.

When you don’t accept yourself, the truth becomes your enemy.

When you don’t accept yourself, you have no place to hide.

Accepting yourself is everything.

If you accept yourself, you can accept the world.

Painting: Girl at the mirror by Norman Rockwell

10 Responses to “Accept Yourself”

  1. angeles Says:

    i accept! i accept!

    I hear you, Angeles! I hear you! 😛

  2. Kyels Says:

    The first thing we ought to do before loving or accepting someone else is to love and accept ourselves … If that doesn’t happen, then it’d be hard.

    I agree, Kyels. 🙂

  3. mistipurple Says:

    i accept myself and i know life is ‘demp’ tough for poor folks like us. ya, i’m not disgruntled with life. *stamps feet*

    You shouldn’t be, Misti. 😉

    *stamps feet in agreement*

  4. andiesummerkiss Says:

    The painting is stunning. Sometimes we are harsher to ourselves than to the world.

    Yep, I love the painting, Andie. 🙂

    You’re right.. sometimes we are just too harsh on ourselves.

  5. LB Says:

    I don’t accept everything.. I will not roll over..

    LB, you will.. if it makes Man Utd wins every game. 😛

  6. day-dreamer Says:

    I accept myself. But do people accept me as who I am? 😡

    Forgive them if they don’t accept you for who you are, D-D.

  7. trinity Says:

    So everyone accept themselves except LB, but you can find a skaak maat step to make him accept everything for MU kakakaka…

    Nice post, the painting is really suitable with the words that follow… nice work Jemima.

    I’ve made sure I was accepted by God the way I am, and then I can accept myself. 🙂

    God will always accept you – flaws & all, Trinity.

    Thanks for the compliments.

    As for LB, he is entitled to do what he likes. I’m not going to twist his arm. 😛


  8. I accept myself for who I am too….and if others can’t handle it, so what? I know God accepts me 🙂

    That’s the attitude, Giddy Tigress. 🙂

  9. trinity Says:

    thanks for being with me and my flaws too Jemima.

    Likewise, Trinity. After all, we’re all God’s children. 🙂

  10. Tine Says:

    God accepts us for whoever we are. After all, He made us, no? 🙂

    That’s right, Tine. 🙂


Leave a comment